You can’t be Sirius?

My new pickup truck has something I never considered buying – satellite radio. Before I got it, I thought to myself, “Why would I pay for something that I get for free on FM?” But now that I have had a few days with it I understand the appeal. So far, I have my stations set as “Soundtracks”, “Coffeehouse”, “The Message”, “21st Century Pop”, “BBC”, and “ESPN”. It’s very relaxing to listen to a wide variety of music without any jabbering or getting the talk you are interested in.

On the Pop station they played U2’s One, which I have always found to be an interesting song. They sing, in part:
Love is a temple
Love a higher law
Love is a temple
Love the higher law
You ask me to enter
But then you make me crawl
And I can’t be holding on
To what you got
When all you got is hurt

One love
One blood
One life
You got to do what you should
One life
With each other
Sisters
Brothers

One life
But we’re not the same
We get to
Carry each other
Carry each other…..

Sometime the musicians sing better sermons that a preacher could ever preach. I wonder what it will take for this to be readily agreed upon? We value the illusion that we can make it alone and no one ever needs to carry us. There are many people out there that we simply do not consider sisters and brothers – way too many. And there are many who try to get others to bear their hurts in the name of love versus trying to do the reverse. And I surely include myself in all of this. Can we get to the point of carrying each other?

In the meantime, I will enjoy my three months of courtesy Sirius radio.

What songs of late have made you think?

All the best and until next time,

Tom

2 thoughts on “You can’t be Sirius?

Leave a Reply

