Until we Meet Again

Last Sunday, my father passed away. This occurred just five weeks after my mother passed away. And even though I have officiated in many many funerals, memorial services, and All Saints Sundays, it is different of course when it is someone you have known and loved. It is also different than when my younger brother died because the overwhelming feeling then was “it’s way way too soon.” But it is different when both of your parents have lived to a ripe old age, isn’t it? It makes it ok, doesn’t it? Well, not exactly.

I realize that my feelings are not always logical. Logically, you do not want your loved ones to live on and on when age continues to wreck havoc with our bodies. You don’t want your loved ones to live on and on when many of the ones they have loved, maybe even loved the most, are already gone and they face life without them. Logically, it should all be ok when death comes, right? Well, not exactly.

Scripture says death is an enemy and I believe that. Death, as I have written before, disrupts relationships. No matter what good we can rationalize, there will be no more one on one contact between us and those who die. At least not in this life. And we’d not be truthful if we said we wouldn’t miss, deeply miss, what was.

What we rest upon is this – God gives us all our relationships in the first place. God never intended them to last forever in this life. And God has new relationships that are significant for us. And he has promised all of us that, for his people, even when we see ‘end points’ new beginnings are in the wings.

So death of loved ones give us each a chance not to say goodbye but rather ‘until we meet again’. And I hope that when I do see my folks again I will have made a difference with my life as they made with theirs.

Until next time,

Tom

7 thoughts on “Until we Meet Again

  1. Indeed – Tom; speaking from experience, there is never a right time and we are never ready to lose our loved ones. No matter how rational thought tells us that their suffering (often considerable) is over, and indeed that they are with our Heavenly Father – our loss is too intense.

    When my Mum was dying she said ‘now you’ll not be greeting (crying ) for me when I’m gone!’ and I said ‘Mum, when you’re gone, we aren’t greeting for you, we’ll be greeting for us’.

    We are acutely aware of the missing part of our lives – and that it becomes part of our lives, and that ‘gap’ never goes away; it is simply woven into our life experience.

  2. Tom & Lesley,
    I am very sad to say hear of the passing of your father. I want you to know that our prayers are with you all. I am also sending along some belated prayers for your family as you deal with your mom’s passing. I did not know. I guess in the bustle of our lives someone was suppose to let me know. My dad mentioned that your mom had died in July when he told me about your father. I am not a faithful facebook follower so if it was mentioned on there – I missied it. I think everyone assumed someone else had told me. I am really sorry that I did not send a card. I would have. So, extra prayers at this time are going your way. We love you guys.

    1. Hey Hazel. I bet somehow with you all’s travel the word was missed. Thank you for your thoughts. I wish you all had had the chance to know them better. We love you too. Tom

  3. Tom,

    When my parents died (8 years apart), it hit me hard because I realized for the first time I was really on my own. Before that time I knew there was at least one person in the world who thought I was perfect and who would always be there for me no matter what.Both had been ill for several years before they died but I still was not ready for them to go. I guess we never are. Truly my thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Jan

  4. My thoughts and prayers are with you at this sad time. That your parents lived long and fruitful lives was a blessing. When Roger died, Kenneth said that he had lost his anchor. Your parents were able to experience the wonderful young man you have become Tommy.
    Love,
    Deda

Leave a Reply

