I Was in New Territory

Most of you know this but I had no sisters growing up (by contrast my wife had no brothers).  Although I have a number of nieces, I have never lived in the same town with them.  Therefore, for me, the first little girl in my family tree since my mother is my daughter.  And I am being introduced to a new world out there.

Yesterday, we went to her dance recital at Loyola.  I don’t know what I was expecting but it certainly was beyond anything I had dreamed.  Families filled a very large auditorium.  There were well over a hundred dancers and multiply this by all of the mothers, sisters, aunts, and grandmothers present – it made men to be in the vast minority.  I had never seen anything like it.

The recital took three hours and simply from my ministry experience, military experience, and limited experience in high school drama – I was struck by the amount of work that must have gone into the production.  I also couldn’t believe the number of costumes (with multiple changes), trophies, flowers, and movement (both on and off the stage).  I also felt like I was watching before me the future women of the city (although I am sure many will go to college and settle elsewhere).  Their ages ranged from what seemed four to sixteen or seventeen (but they might have been younger – I am a bad guesser these days with teenage girls’ actual ages).  All did well but some really were accomplished.

Of course one little dancer was the one who really moved me.  I was really proud of her.  I am so glad my wife’s folks were able to see her and I just wish my folks had been able to do the same.

But overall, just about the time I think I know what is out there in the world, God will surprise me with something.  And it happened yesterday.

Adventures in parenthood continue.

Until next time,

Tom

Leave a Reply

