When Time is a Commodity

There is a Twilight Zone episode where a man gets a stopwatch that actually stops time.  I often think of how magical that would be.  Need an extra hour of sleep?  Freeze the clock.  Want to finish that chapter of the book you’re reading? Freeze the clock.  Running a little late?  You get the idea.

One thing that I would indulge in if time was unlimited is the new online video games.  If my younger brother were alive, I know he would be amazed at the complexity and depth of the games today.  They also take much more in-depth strategy and skill.  And you can team up with people from all over the planet on a quest.  It simply sounds like a great deal of fun.

But the reason I know not to wade into that pool is because of the time factor.  The games take hours and hours of one’s day to play.  A single quest in a single game can take up to eight hours in some cases.  I read about folks forgoing food and sleep – to play the games.

As fun as it sounds it doesn’t sound like fun to disconnect from my family and my friends for that long.  It sure would add up fast.  On top of this, there is too much work to be done.  And free time can be better spent on other pursuits.

We live in a 24/7 world that throws new things at us all the time.  The choices of where to use our free time continue to multiply.

Unless someone comes across one of those Twilight Zone watches, I plan to use my free time in a way that at the end of the day (or year) that I have something to show for it.

All the best and In Christ,

Tom

Leave a Reply

