To Boldly Go Where Few Want To

We often laud those who physically go where others cannot.  We celebrate those who have climbed to the top of Mount Everest.  We applaud the few who have traveled around the world by themselves.  We will never forget Neil Armstrong when he landed on the moon.  They all deserve the recognition.

But spiritually, the ones who really make the mark are those who go to the places we are all able to go, but we don’t want to.  Collecting clothes for the homeless is laudable.  But are we willing to actually meet the homeless?  When we visit in the nursing homes, isn’t it the exception rather than the rule to see other residents being visited?  Hospitals are also places that many people seem to avoid.  And as for folks in prison?  There are very few who would make that journey.

And yet, this is where Jesus tells us that he will meet us.  In Matthew 25:36 he says, “I was naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.” (KJV).

I am grateful that God has guided me to a place where I run across “spiritual adventurers” on a fairly regular basis.  Let us not only keep it up but expand such ministries.  For in each of them, we receive far more than we ever give.

All the best and In Christ,

Tom

Leave a Reply

