Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me

I can’t light no more of your darkness
All my pictures seem to fade to black and white
I’m growing tired and time stands still before me
Frozen here on the ladder of my life

(Opening of “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” by Elton John)

We have been working through the life of King David at Parkway this summer and as I read through his life one is struck at how he reaches such emotional heights (like when he was dancing with only a slight coverning on as he led the Ark of the Covenant into the capital) and equally some incredible lows (like when Absalom was killed).  Joy is something we expect from “a man after God’s own heart” but why such lows as well?

I have a friend who is a senior pharmacist.  He once shared with me that beyond blood pressure medication, anti-depressents are one of the most commonly prescribed medications in our society today.

I surely know that some folks have depression which runs in their families.  Medication helps right an internal balance which is off simply due to a chemical imbalance.  Thank goodness we have the technology to develop drugs to fight such imbalances.

But I suspect David’s depression was not genetic but rather situational because of his personal history.  Yet, he found his way out of the dark pit he found himself by turning back to God and getting right with him.  I wonder today how many people are on anti-depressants not due to a hereditary problem but due to a personal history problem.  I don’t think David would have found the same peace with modern medicine that God ended up giving him.

Please trust me when I write, if you are on prescribed medication I am not and will never urge you to stop taking  something your physician feel you need.  Pastors are in no way good judges of what medicines you should or should not be on.

At the same time, if you feel your depression is based on some situation in your past, while continuing your medication, I urge you to talk to your pastor/rabbi/imam – whoever your clergy person is.  I have seen amazing thigns happen for folks who once saw no future but now have found a new one.

God doesn’t want the sun to go down on anyone.  That is why he gave us his only son.

As we address our mental and physical health, let us never dismiss our spiritual health as well.  They are all connected inside of us.

All the best and in Christ,

Tom

2 thoughts on “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me

Leave a Reply

