Serendipitous Findings

After church yesterday, my family and I drove up to to visit with my parents. My mom is now 85 and we had a great chat.  While I visited, I went up to their guest room and while there looked on their bookshelves.  On the side, in the shadows, were two thin books I had never noticed before.  I opened each to discover they were my mother’s high school yearbooks from 1940 and 1941.

At first, I spent the time flipping through the pages finding pictures of my mother.  She was quite active and particapted and led in the debating club, photography club, yearbook staff, and pep squad among others.  I had never seen pictures of her when she was a teenager and we had fun pointing her out to both her and my father.

I asked if I could borrow them to scan the pictures which they readily agreed.  When I got back home, I began to read each yearbook all the way through.  The parallels and contrasts to today were noticeable.  The teens themselves look like teens from today.  But it was fun to see the formality of the clothes on a day to day basis, the depth of the topics discussed, the wide variety of activities (none with any technology we are used to today), and even the thoughts of the administrators.  It was also interesting to look into so many faces, bright and full of enthusiasm, with the tempering knowledge that Word War II was just around the corner.  I wonder how many of these young people were soon in the thick of it all over the world or even back at home.

Our mothers usually have an indelible influence on our lives.  I know mine sure did.  Even at 47, when facing an ethical or moral dillema, I will consider how she would approach it.  She taught me much about God and about the world.   And surely part of her world outlook was formed in the halls of of her high school.

It’s amazing what you can somtimes find sitting quietly on a family bookshef.

All the best and In Christ,

Tom

One thought on “Serendipitous Findings

  1. Your right on target with this!! Keep it up. Mothers are a gift

    Please send me a friend request on FACEBOOK so that I can get your new post on my page. Just post a link to your facebook so I will see the updates after we are friends. You will get a lot more visits to your post too…Thanks

    http://www.facebook.com/zdennyfamily

Leave a Reply

